Back again....Still Shopping

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TSgtRet

As some of you may  remember I was on a while ago and we thought we were going to get the 30' Elandan.  Glad we didin't now and have been doing much shopping and research and have a few questions for the forum.
We are still looking at both Cs and As but there are now a few parameters (mostly from the management).  Full bath, rear bed, the shorter the better (no toad).  She prefers the Class A driving compartment but is flexible.  We've ruled out the Toyota chassis (most are rear bath) and are interested in things like shorter Flairs and Chieftains. 
Ok, now the questions:  In our search we have common "ailments" and I would like to know (in general) which are the "cheap" repairs and which are the stay-away-froms.  I'm a fair gearhead and carpenter, very good electrics, so so plumber. I'm not afraid of any of this but I don't want to leave her with a bad taste for RVing.  As an example, I'm looking at a 1987 Ford, Sportcraft, 26', 97k, 460, C6.  Doesn't look "abused, just "used". Nothing major jumps out but with that many miles on any vehicle something could crop up tomorrow.
SO I've ramble a bit but hope I got my message across....general guidance around a pitfall or two would be appreciated!

Hey Sarge, a few years back a friend of mine, who knew nothing about RVs, bought an older
Winnabago with high miles on a 454 Chevy.  He was taking his family to the Grand Canyon. 
They made it as far as Memphis, Tenn. when the engine went out.  That a long haul back
to North Carolina. 

I would say that it is according to how you are going to use it and if you are getting it
cheap enough that you can afford to replace the engine if necessary.  With a high mileage
gas engine if the maintenance records show that the fluids were changed per recommendations, it