California - love it or hate it

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Lived in Santa Ana and Anahiem.

LOL Ron, you base your impressions of California on Disneyland  ??? Haven't you heard/seen me say countless times that I don't do Mickey Mouse? One reason is the crowds in the area, but in size it's a dot on the state map.

As a native Californian who has never lived anywhere else (three months in Memphis notwithstanding) I'd just like to chime in here and say Wendy nailed it. I am a proud Californian, I'm just tired of it all: the traffic congestion, the smog and heat, the outrageously high cost of living, taxes, the whack-jobs in state government and now that I'm a motor home driver I am learning for the first time how lousy our freeways are. Half an hour on I-5 in the Central Valley can rattle loose half the screws in your rig and the fillings in your teeth.

Can't remember who said it a few notes back but I agree: once a Californian always a Californian, but I'm an American first and there are some fabulous places in other states I've yet to see.

Half an hour on I-5 in the Central Valley can rattle loose half the screws in your rig and the fillings in your teeth.

LOL Dave. You sure you're not thinking of Hwy 99? We usually think of I-5 as a good (smooth) road, with relatively little traffic. I'm talking I-5 south of Tracy, which is about where we enter/leave the freeway from/to the Delta.

Hwy 99 OTOH is state (un)maintained and carries lots of heavy trucks.

papahog said:
Wendy you said.

The ENTIRE Pacific Coast?  Did you forget about God's country.  The PNW has a lot of Pacific Coast we can lay claim to.  Oregon in particular has a spectacular coast line.  None better.   ;D