Do you use your roof rack???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

wpflum

I've been working on the RV for a few months now, it's slow going what with 3 kids a wife with migraines and juggling keeping the house from falling apart and having to drive 20 minutes to get to my parents place to work on it.  Not to mention the 'lump' scare we had with my wife and the subsequent out patient surgery, a 'partial boobectomy' to remove said 'fatty mass'.  So far so good on that front she's a bit on the sore side but doing well. 

We moved the beast (the RV not my wife  ;D) out from the bay with the pit to another out building so my father could use the pit to work on a truck.  While I was backing into the new building I heard a bit of tearing and slammed the brakes on, got out and realized that the cargo/roof rack had hit the main ceiling beam and had pulled out a bit and gotten bent back.  Not a big deal since I'm redoing the roof anyway I figured I can unbend it and reattach it with bigger screws and cover the hole mount with eternabond before I recoat the roof. 

While I was thinking through the steps I'd need to repair it I had a thought, do I really need it anyway??  It's the tallest thing on the camper and if I'd just remove it when I redo the roof I could patch up the holes with tape and recoat and you'd never really know it was there and gain an inch or so less height. 

So I thought I'd ask to see if I'm missing a really GREAT reason to keep it on.

Anyone want to talk me out of this?? 

The RV is pretty high already so I can't see me wanting to put luggage up there making it even taller so why have it on at all.  I'm sure it must weight a bit so I'd lose the weight also.