Considering Tow Vehicle Upgrade

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

xaugievike

Hi everyone!  I'm a bit of a rookie and I have hardly posted at all since joining....though I have been a fly-on-the-wall like crazy just trying to soak up information - so here is a backstory (skip to "the point" if i bore you).

EDIT: Now that I've typed this perhaps i should retitle the thread as "my learning experience with tow vehicles"

I have a young family and we bought our first "RV" (Keystone Laredo 284bhs - 32' 8" stem to stern) in April, nearly a year after buying my first "capable" truck in a Nissan Titan.  At the time I looked, i learned, i read and read and read....was going to pull the trigger on a keystone outback when luck found me the Laredo - loved the floor plan, wife loved the floor plan (lets be honest, this is why it now sits in the driveway!), got an AWESOME deal (it was an unsold 07 in the early stages of the 08 model year), and it was "only" 1000lbs heavier than the outback that we merely "liked."

Looking back at some reading I had done both here and in other forums (other RV chats and many other specific truck forums) i decided that the "20% rule" (as in getting a rig that was 20% less than the tow vehicle's capability) was a good baseline for my trailer purchase.  So, the Laredo seemed to be a decent enough fit....Advertised tongue of the Laredo is 680, i weighed it with a race car scale for "real world" situations, after some knowledge about advertised weight vs. the real world, and got 696 (this was with propane, battery, and tool box in storage area).  Dry weight is close to 7k based on advertised weight and guesstimations of AC and other "additions" (no, i havent hit the scale.....sorry!!!).  All of that is within the Titan's capabilties with the 20% rule applied.