Questions from a first time RV buyer

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MikeinGB

Hi!? I am trying to find a camper that best meets my family?s needs.? I am new to the camping world and have many questions.? I am planning on using my camper mainly on weekends, with an occasional week long stay during vacation, and traveling no further than a 150 mile radius from home.? Any input that I can receive would be of great value.

After exploring all of the different models/options at our local retailers I am leaning heavily towards a hybrid.? The 2 main reasons why I favor a hybrid are:

1.? Bed Size.? As far as campers go, it seems that the industry standard for queen size beds is 75? long.? I found a few hybrids that have 80? long beds.? Since I am 6? 8? (80 inches) tall, this is a given.? Plus my kids are big too, and I want something that they will be comfortable in for years to come, as I am sure they will be very tall as well.? Also, with a hybrid I can get 3 ? 80? X 60? queen size beds in a given unit.

2.? Trailer Size.? I?d like to keep it below 25 feet if possible.? I have yet to find anything else with adequate bed size that is less than 25 feet.? Also, I would like for each our 2 boys to have their own bed.? I?ve seen models with bunks, but the bunks are only 72? long and are narrow, which I am sure they will soon outgrow.

The 3 models that seemed to best meet our needs are:

Stampede S-22 TBRG (by Palomino)
Kodiak 23TT (by Skamper)
Rockwood Roo 233 (by Forest River)

Of the 3 I like the Rockwood Roo the best, as the layout is more appealing, and the fact that none of the pop out beds occupies the front side of the camper, allowing for more usable space in front as well as a larger awning.

Some concerns that I have are: