Music on the road

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Mark, WOW another "big church" musician!  :)  I am a drummer/percussionist for the music program at our church of 4000 or so in Normal, IL.  In fact we have recently put "Overcome" in our rotation of songs, and I've played it a few times myself.  Very inspiring story behind that tune, which was shared to the congregation the first time we played it a couple months back.

You guys are giving me an inferiority complex, so I have to post a shot of my first musical instrument - I call this my musical debut.

I'm reminded of a local water rat (fulltime boater) who, for as long as I can remember, would play Reveille on his bugle at 5.30am every day. Nobody complained - it was all part of the "ambiance" of the Delta, but I can't imagine what reactions he'd have received if he had done that at a campground.

Attachments

• Trumpet.jpg
    Trumpet.jpg
    36.7 KB · Views: 38
Yeah Scott....as you watch the Overcome video, its a story (by Jon Egan of Desperation) about overcoming several issues which arose at our church....first the disaster about the Pastor, Ted Haggard, and then the shootings that happened at the Church last year.  :eek:  The song (and story in the video link) are very powerful.

Glad to hear you guys playing that song....I have no doubt you are playing others by Desperation also!   :)

You and I now have something in common, and I will remember your posts in the future!  :)

Voyage1 said:
I am a musician, but have been trading Energy for over 28 years as my main career. 

I am a keyboardist and a music major, and have played with many many bands over the years, and am now able to occasionally play the Hammond B3 with a Contemporary Christian band called "Desperation", based out of New Life Church here in Colorado Springs, and sometimes direct the choir on Sunday mornings.