Need help choosing a rig?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Al B. Bach

I am new to fulltime camping and this is my first post here. I wanted to get some pointers about what I should look for in a good motor home? I am currently looking at three very different rigs.

The first one is a 1987 31' Southwind. It is a gas Chevy 454 that a local rv dealer has. The plus side to it is that it will be completely gone through by the dealer to make sure everything is ready for the road. They are asking $8000 for it which seems to be a pretty good deal around here.

The second one is a little farther away and I am going to look at it later today. It is a 1981 33' Foretravel diesel pusher. I have heard the diesels are more reliable and get a little better millage but I don't know if this is true or not. Please straighten me out. The biggest problem I can see with it is that it has been on their lot for a while now and they are not going through it to make sure everything is okay. It is also $8000 which seems like a real bargin for a diesel.

The third one is my personal favorite but I'm afraid it is also the most impractical. It is a 1975 Beachcraft. 26' with alot of work having already been done to the interior to modernize it. It is a 440 Dodge. The problems for it are, it needs batteries, tires, and the generator won't stay running. They think the problem with the generator is the fuel pump but they are not sure. I really love the look of the old RVs and at an asking price of $1750 obo it's certainly the cheapest option I have looked at. Unfortunately, with it's age, I'm just not sure it would be smart to try and live out of it. It is also the farthest away at around 250 miles so I have not seen it in person yet.