What States Can You Pull Two Trailers and newbie questions?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

drhines

Hello - I am a newbie to this board. In 2003 I bought a new Newmar Mountainaire but had to later sell it about a year later due to taking care of 4 young grandsons. My problem with the motorhome was that I love riding motorcycles and we always had to decide whether to take a vehicle or the bikes.

Now I am trying to make my mine up between a 5th Wheel Toyhauler - 40 Ft All American Sport by Forest River that will give ample living area as well as plenty of room to haul a couple of motorcycles or to just buy a 5th Wheel  rig and maybe tow the bikes behind it on a trailer.

Does anyone know of an internet site that publishes states that allow double trailers to be pulled without having to check out each state? Someone told me some states would let you pull double trailers with a 5th wheel rig but not a travel trailer. I don't have a clue.

The reason for checking out both is that the 40 ft rig at max weight is about 1000 lbs over the gross towing capacity of my new 05 F250 Ford with the 6.0 diesel, and also a 40 ft rig is not going to fit into a lot of campgrounds. I thought that if enough states allowed double trailers that a standard 5th wheel trailer would be much lighter and would resale better later if I decided I had rather have another motorhome instead of the 5th wheel. I loved the motorhome for traveling but don't see no big advantage after you get to where you are going.

Any help concerning any of these thoughts would be appreciated. I grew up in trucking business and have lots of miles driving 18 wheelers and pulling two trailers don't really bother me much although I have never done so with small rigs like I would be doing with the F250.

Doug Hines
Benton, AR