2006 Coachman Class C-Good choice?? Help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rv1000

???  Looking at Class C motorhomes in the Length of 24 to 27'.  Coachman seems to have the best frame extentions of all brands inspected.  The floor plans seem to fit our liking.  I am concerned about the quality of a Coachman vs a Winnebago or Itasca. I have seen a few things in Coachman units that were not right, such as cabinets that aren't match evenly to adjacent panels.
  We are looking at the 2006 models with the Ford V-10 (3 valve) and 5 speed trans. PLEASE let me know anything Good or Bad.

I have no personal experience with Coachman, but they are not renowned for fit & finish or quality of materials.  They generally target the low-price market and have to economize somewhere.  On the plus side, I haven't heard of any unusual problems either.

Personally I would be more inclined towards the Winnebago/Itasca products or perhaps one of the Fleetwood C's, a Gulfstream or a Bigfoot.  If your budget can handle it, a Lazy Days is probably the premier brand and Born Free close behind. These cost more, but you can usually recover a portion of it later when trading or selling.

We had a 24' Coachman Class C for almost 15 years. It was what we could afford when we bought it and it was a floorplan we liked. And in 15 years, the only problems we had weren't related to Coachman....refrigerator (Dometic) leaked and stained the wood beneath, generator (Onan) went out and needed a $400 part, threw a fan belt 1/4-mile short of Eisenhower tunnel, dent in side where we were attacked by a grocery cart, etc. We didn't get a lot when we sold it earlier this year ($5,000) but it had 150,000 miles on it and we live in the middle of nowhere. If I had had my way, we'd still have it but Mike wanted something newer and bigger and I do love the Winnebago.

Wendy