Yes I'm a NOOB - Should I choose a 20 or 30 AMP site?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Path07

This will be first summer camping...

We are going to a campsite where they offer 2 choices for electricity... 20AMP or 30 AMP

My RV comes with a 30AMP cord (and I believe they are giving me an adapter - I have not picked up my RV yet).  I have A/C, Microwave, 2 slide-outs.

SHould I be going for a 20amp or the 30 amp site...it's only a 3$ difference between the 2.,... but if I don't really need 30AMP!!!!!

Thanks

If you are going to use the a/c then get the 30 otherwise save your money and get the 20.

Take the 30 AMP site. You might need air conditioning and one can never have too much electricity, IMHO.

Regards,
Liz Pearce

The answer depends partially on where you're going to be located.  If in a hot area, then you'll definitely want the A/C and 30 amps.  If you're going to be in cool mountains or maybe along a coast, then you might be okay with 20 amp, but I'd still go for 30 amp.  Running a microwave takes quite a bit of power and if that's your primary cooking mode you'll be happier with 30.  Also, if the RV has been sitting in the sun all day, you might want the A/C on for a while to cool it off when you return after a day of sightseeing or whatever.  It takes a while for RV walls to cool off.  Sometimes if there's a cool breeze, just opening the windows is enough, but I wouldn't count on that.  Also, if you're in a dusty area the wind and people driving on dirt roads can really pick up dust so leaving the windows open sometimes isn't a good option, especially if someone has breathing issues.  I'd go for the 30 amps myself.  The downside is that if you only get 20 and find you need 30 you may have to change sites which might not be easy if you're in a popular area.

ArdraF