Another wireless internet post

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dverstra

I'm a newbie to trying to hook up while on the road with my RV. I need to access email while on the road. In Sept., we will be travelling from Michigan to Maine ( thru the U.P. to North Bay, ON to Montreal to Maine. I currently have a Verizon cellphone(capable of internet) and a Sony laptop with wireless. After reading quite a few posts on this topic, I think I have a plan. My backstop will be Verizon, with wireless when available.  I can switch to a "North America's Choice" plan  and have no roaming in ON ( per their map). I think that I might want to add a external antenna for my cellphone(?). Wilson Electronics antenna has been suggested to me. Some of the RV parks on this route do not have wireless access so I might have to rely on a Verizon connection. When I am at a park with wireless, will l need an external wireless antenna? From all of the posts, it appears so. I see where a couple of those have been suggested in other posts. Hawking HWU54D and RadioLabs. I have never connected with a cell phone but I am sure the local distributor of Verizon will help me thru it.

Suggestions and comments would be appreciated. I certainly appreciate the info on this forum. Thanks to those that administer it!!