Driver's License and GVWR??????

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

taoshum

Yes, I'm a newbie here...  I just looked at my DL which is issued in NM and it says I'm ok for vehicles up to 26,000 lb GVWR.  Out of curiosity, I looked up the Itasca GVWR and it's over 27,000 lb.  So, I called the MVD office and they said "don't worry about it as long as you are not doing something that requires a Commercial Driver's Lic, like driving an 18 wheeler I guess.  Some of the larger MHs have GVWRs over 30,000 lb so I'm wondering what other people do.  Is this an issue?

thanks, Gary :eek:

15 states require a Class B license if you drive a vehicle with over 26,000 gvwr. If you live in one of those states and drive one and don't have a class B you could get into a lot of trouble. If you have an accident and you do not have the proper license for the vehicle you are driving the insurance company can deny the claim. You are also in violation of the law and could either get fined, go to jail or get sued. The commercial aspect has nothing to do with it. You need to carefully check the laws of your state and get the proper license if that is what is required.

Gary:

NM makes it pretty clear that if you are not required to have a CDL and operate a vehicle over 26,000 pounds you need to have a Class E license. As Tom points out you are in trouble if you are stopped or involved in an accident.

Florida specifically exempts RV s from their general requirement to have a higher class license for non-commercial vehicles over 26,000 lbs. Perhaps New Mexico does something similar?

I'd call a different New Mexico DMV office and get another opinion. It is not all that uncommon for a clerk to be wrong on subtle questions.

A few official words of the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles:

Commercial Driver Licenses (CDL)