Bought TT & having shipped, should I wait to have WD hitch installed with my TV?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

austintx01

I am a newbie and in the process of buying a TT (27BHS Keystone Hornet) from a dealer in Ohio (Holman - I did not want to buy out of state, but they get great customer reviews on eBay and their price could not be touched by anyone in state).  I am having it shipped  - bidding it out on "uship.com" - so I don't know if it will be towed or pulled on a trailer yet (I'm not sure this is even possible given the size?).  Don't I need to have the WD hitch/sway bar (after reading a lot on this forum I plan to go with the Reese Dual Cam or Equalizer, not sure which yet) installed locally along with my Ford F150?  The dealer said they could install it, but it needs to be adjusted for my TV, right?  Thanks for any help

you do have to wait. I have a 28bhs and use the duel cam. I just purchased a new 2500HD Silverado to replace a 1500 and had to reset the hitch because of difference in hight.

You can get the receiver installed but to set up the trailer and determine the setting for the spring bars, you need to have the trailer handy. On the other hand, if you drive the truck to a local hitch shop, they won't have the trailer either, since you can't tow it there. Or will you have it delivered to the hitch shop?  The shop can select the size of spring bar for the WD mechanism based on the estimated tongue weight of your trailer. From there it is trial and error. Just make sure you can exchange the bars if they turn out to be too small.