Transporting fire wood into Newyork State

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

EMS1

We are packing up next week and heading to Darien lake for a few days and was going to take some firewood in a small trailer.

Is this allowed?

Lots of parks either prohibit bringing in firewood or bringing it in from a distance greater than 50 miles.  The reason is that by bringing it in you may also be bringing in harmful insects such as the emerald ash borer. 

From your posting it is not clear what border you may be crossing, but I would guess you are talking about the U.S. - Canadian border.  At any rate, I have no first hand knowledge but would guess that it will not be allowed.  A few telephone calls might be in order.  Please let us know what you learn.

The last time I was in Canada was two years ago and at that time you were not allowed to take any firewood in because of the Emerald Ash Borer. I would assume it is still the same but not sure.

Woody

Would anyone know what number I would call about this?

I am crossing from Ontario into Newyork. Niagra Falls

There is a law that prohibits the import of firewood into New York unless it has been kiln-dried. The regulation also limits the transportation of untreated firewood to less than 50 miles from it's source. I would just buy firewood locally.

Ya, I was just trying to save some money, I know I can buy it off the side of the road but they want like 8 bucks and you get 6-7 sticks...... ::) ::)

That rule is in effect all over the west because of the pine beetle infestation. They do not want wood carried anywhere!

One of the considerations you should think about when thinking about transporting wood across state lines, or even across a single state is just how much money you will thus save