How important is a battery isolator?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Don Peterson

I am new to RV-ing in that I have done a lot of tent-camping and pop-up trailer camping, but I now have a new Jayco Jayfeather LGT 26S travel trailer. Going through the owner's manual they talk about a battery isolator. I called my RV dealer about it and was told that most people don't install one.

I am just wondering how important this device is. Do you recommned one? What can happen if I don't install one? Also, where can I get a battery isolator and, is it installed on the trailer or on the tow vehicle?

Thanks,
Don Peterson

Don

They could be talking about two different kinds of battery isolator:

• A switch located on the trailer that disconnects the trailer's house battery while in storage (can help prevent the battery being drained).
  • A device that sits under the hood of your car/truck and allows both the car battery and trailer battery to be charged from your engine alternator as you're driving down the road without one affecting the other.

The first kind can be found at RV supply stores, dealers, or marine/boat stores. The second kind can be bought at virtually any auto parts store. I'll try to find some photos to upload for you to see the two.

I was looking for the battery isolator that mounts on the tow vehicle and is used to charge the auxiliary battery and tow vehicle battery separately. It also keeps the trailer from using the tow vehicle battery power when the trailer battery runs low. As long as I unplug the power plug from the truck when I am stopped for any length of time, I should be OK. I think I could find other things to do with the $80 or so that it costs for the battery isolator and associated wiring kit. But if anyone has had any caveats about this, I am willing to listen.

Thanks,
Don