cant figure out the oven

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bigdevo82

newby in a 2008 chevy freelander. last night was our first night, today we went to use the oven and cant figure it out. i turn on the pilot light, try lighting every thing i see under there and nothing happens. i have never used a oven like this before so i dont know if im just ignorant, or if something is wrong. i can get the stove top to work, so i dont think its out of propane or anything.
any suggestions?
also if anyone has any idea how to look up the owners manuals online, could ya point me in the right direction?

Did you have to put a match or lighter to the stove top burners?  If not, your oven is probably a DSI (direct spark igniter).  You would just set the temp and wait for the igniter to lite the flame.  How long you have to wait might be the key.  If there is no propane in the line to the oven, it may take a minute to fill the line, then ignite the spark.

Have fun with the new RV.

Marsha~

[size=12pt]bigdevo82,  I have a similar unit.  It is made by Coachman.  You are correct, the oven is difficult to light.  I use one of those long propane lighters.  Use a flashlight and way in the back left corner at the bottom of the oven is the pilot light.  Light the propane lighter and hold it under the pilot light and hold down the oven knob in the PILOT position.  It is not very easy and does take some time.  We did get our oven to light and it works well.

When I get back home tonight I will dig out the oven manual to get you a model number of the oven.  Perhaps you can do an internet search and locate a copy for yourself.  Did you purchase the unit new?  Mine came with a manual.[/size]

These ovens require a bi-metallic strip to be heated up prior to allowing the pilot jet from receiving propane. This is so the gas is shut off if the pilot light gets extinguished.