Need a little advice.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Torchbearer

I am 39 years old with a wife and 3 kids 11, 9, and 8.  My wife and I have been working our tail off for the past 15 years to provide for our family.  On a recent trip to New York I got to talking to a couple that had sold everything and started workcamping full time.  They would home school their kids and move around every 6 months or so.  I started thinking about that for our family.  I would love the kids to go to school and I don't think it would be out of the question if I could stay in a location during the school year.  The biggest thing is that I would be leaving everything behind that I have worked for, but I look at it that I would get to spend so much time with the family and the kids would get to see the country.  Do you guys think this is nuts?  I have over $200,000 equity in my house that could be saved, and any money that I earned would go for our essentials.  You guys that do this let me know the draw backs and if you think I am having a melt down even thinking about this.

I would have to commend you for having 200k in home equity and for all the hard work it takes to get it.  I also dont want to discourage your "workcamping" idea, but at the same time would give you advice that might work out better for your family.  Stay doing what you have been for another ten years. Your youngest should be out of HS, and you still would be only 49, and likely your equity will be higher, and likely you can save back cash as well.  

Disturbing your children by moving every 6 months, may increase the "tension" that usually comes as children reach their teenage years.  You would be doing them and yourself, a favor to allow them to have more stability during their teen years.