Best way to charge battery?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ADKBOB

Hi,  This forum is great!  I'm sure this question has been asked before. I'm new to RVing. I just bought a 2009 R-Vision 21 ft. TT. We just got back from our first 10 days of camping. (There were no hook-ups) Trying to find out the best way to charge the battery. The charger inside the trailer is a Parallax model: 7155. It says the output is 55 Amps at 13.6 VDC. The trailer battery is an Interstate Deep Cycle HD24-DP. I have a Honda EU1000i generator.  After about the fourth day the battery monitor in the trailer was showing two-thirds charge. I plugged the shore line into the generator a ran it for 1.5 hours a day therafter but could not bring the battery back up to full charge. Is there a better way to charge the battery? Also, should I try and "maintain" the battery by charging every day right from the beggining instead of letting it get to two-thirds and then trying to bring the battery back up? Thank You, Bob

Hi Bob and welcome to RV Forum.

1.5 hours isn't a lot of charging time. That's because the battery will not accept 55A of charging right up to the 100% mark. Once the battery reaches about 80% charge, the rate at which it will accept a charge slows way down, so in effect your 55A charger becomes a 3-4 amp charger in the latter stages. So yes, you are probably better off running it an hour a day.

You can only use about 50% of the available charge in a battery anyway. The voltage drops too much beyond that and it is harmful to the battery anyway. I suspect that you were pretty much down near the 50% level when you charged, regardless of what the gauge said. They are an approximation at best.