generator hook up for a newbie

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hpcmbw

I'm very new to rv'ing -I recently inherited a 30' Salem 5th wheel and have yet to take it out, but have been playing with it to figure things out. I'm trying to use my small Honda ex800 generator (120v, 60 hz, 700 va, 800 va max) to power my fifth wheel. The generator has a regular plug, the 5th wheel has a big three prong "shore power" plug. Can I just get an adapter to make the shore power plug fit the generator?

Can the generator power the a/c system? The heater fan? The microwave? Everything else seems to work ok via battery.

Thanks for the help.

hpcmbw said:
I'm very new to rv'ing -I recently inherited a 30' Salem 5th wheel and have yet to take it out, but have been playing with it to figure things out. I'm trying to use my small Honda ex800 generator (120v, 60 hz, 700 va, 800 va max) to power my fifth wheel. The generator has a regular plug, the 5th wheel has a big three prong "shore power" plug. Can I just get an adapter to make the shore power plug fit the generator?

Can the generator power the a/c system? The heater fan? The microwave? Everything else seems to work ok via battery.

Thanks for the help.

800VA (800 watts for all practical purposes) isn't much power for most microwaves and A/C systems. Look at the ratings of each item and if it's above 800, the answer is a "no".  If the stuff is rated in amps instead of watts, multiply the amperage by 120. For an example, if your microwave says 120 VAC @ 10 amps, that is 1,200 watts and your generator is under powered by 400 watts. Sometimes the rating is inside the oven door (on the side, right where the door closes), sometimes near the cord. But everything should have its wattage rating listed somewhere if you look for it.