Seatbelts in motorhomes for kids???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sarah

Hi
I'm very new to this so I am going to be asking heaps of questions hope that's ok?  My husband and I are wanting to travel next year with my boys they will be 2 and 4 years old.  We are from Australia and kids have to where seat belts and be in the appropiate booster seat/carseat.  I have been looking at Motorhomes mainly class c and I cant figure out where the boys will sit.  This maybe a really stupid question but my childrens safety is number 1 in my books.  Would we attach the car/seats and have to mount seat belts?  What's the go over in the states how do you travel with kids?
Very confused

Thanks
Sarah

You should be able to go to the state police in your area for clarification.  In PA, they actually give seminars and will inspect your belts and seat to make sure they are properly secure.  In a nutshell, the laws here require you to have child car seats for both of those kids.  They will graduate to booster seats as they age and grow in size.  You are not allowed to have an air bag nearby and they are not to be in the front seat.  They both should be old enough to have front facing seats but must have seat belts and shoulder restraints.  In other words, the laws here are also quite child-friendly. 

Not sure why a motor home would not have seats belts already.  Have you looked down underneath the seats?  If it's old enough that it doesn't, you would certainly need to add them but seat belts have been in motor homes for a long time.  If they haven't been used they may be hiding.

Good luck.  The boys will enjoy the travels and you'll enjoy knowing they are safe.

Seat belt regulations, especially for children, vary somewhat by state. Here is a site that summarizes the regs for each state:

http://www.iihs.org/laws/childrestraint.aspx