RV generator

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tl3883

I am looking at a Powermax 8500e generator.  8500 surge watts and 7000 running watts  This generator is listed on ebay for $700.  Has anyone used a Powermax generator or know anything about them?  Thanks for your help.

I have the 4400E and love it! I built a box for it to keep it quieter than stock, but stock is only 68dba at 21 feet. With the box it is 42dba. I don't know the dba rating of the one you are interested in. The engines are Honda knockoffs. the only thing I found with mine was that the breaker kept tripping when using the RV adapter. I studied the wiring diagram and found that the factory had the wiring incorrect. The company Maxtools was very good to me too when i called about the breaker problem [before I found the cause] they immediately shipped a new breaker even though it was out of warranty.

69 is still a little loud for a campground, but not nearly as loud as a contractors generator. Those are more like 85dba. With mine in the open (68dba) I can have a normal conversation at 15 feet or so, but I built the box for camping at a local beach reservation. With the box the campers right next to me don't know it is running and if I forget to shut it at the cut-off time, the ranger walks right by not noticing that it is running. I love mine. It performs well and cost little.

Most portables, and I am assuming that yours is, need a lot of cool fresh air and are not designed to run in an enclosed area. They will run very hot which tends to cause problems and shorten the service life.

Roy, my box has two fans @ 600cfm each. One blows in and one exhausts. They both have insulated duct connected to them to cut noise. The generator actually runs about 15 degrees cooler than if in free air.