would two transmission coolers work together ??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

will 09

i just got a new  transmision cooler with a fan and was going to take out the other one that doesn't have a fan and replace it with this new one  then i wondered if i left the original one in and added this one as well would that be even better with two or not ? any thoughts ?

My common sense tells me cooler is better.

Too bad I'm not a mechanic by trade to properly answer that question. I'm sure someone will!

I have two, well kind of.  There's a section of the engine radiator that is sectioned off for the transmission.  I added my auxiliary transmission cooler in line with that.

this new transmission cooler i just got seems smaller than the one that  was on but has a 9" fan on it , the guy at jegs the online company i got it from says its a high performance cooler its 11" x 13" x 3/4" and is for a vehicle 30,000 gvw my rv is 12,750 gvw.
the one that was on  was 8" x 14" x 1 1/2" dont know what they go on for best performance of them , square inch surface area or cubic inch area or what ??

just reading another post that the transmission has a cooler inside the main radiator? so the small one is an auxilary one, the pipes from the tranny go into the main radiator then out and into the smaller one before going back to the tranny i didn't realize that, is that correct ?

will 09 said:
just reading another post that the transmission has a cooler inside the main radiator? so the small one is an auxilary one, the pipes from the tranny go into the main radiator then out and into the smaller one before going back to the tranny i didn't realize that, is that correct ?