Fifth wheel install.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nohemihere

I have dodge ram CTD. I am going to install my hitch myself I think. Its not that I cant afford to have someone else do it. I just want to know how everything is put together in case there are problems down the road. I am new to this and I have a few questions. I think the loaded weight of my trailer is slightly under 13000lbs. So I bought a reese 15k hitch. I am pulling a 36 foot nu-way. I havent recieved the hitch yet. How does it mount to the ? Is it a bolt-in or a weld in instalation? How hard is it to do? What about placement? How far forward do you place it? Is there a way to raise the hitch slightly so I can leave my toolbox in? I know you have to be carefull with clearances. I do have a longbed.  Any suggestions would be appreciated.

That seems like a heavy trailer for that truck, have you checked all the weight paramaters for the truck?

Never weld to the new frames it will weaken the frames.

Personally I would prefer to have a shop intall the hitch, since by them doing it the libality if something goes wrong is thier problem not yours.

Nelson

nohemihere said: