Anyone here from Stockton CA area?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FX

I assume you are Tom with your recent post on the sturgeon. 
I am kind of new to fishing the Delta and have dreams of catching a large sturgeon or a monster striper. 
I went out last weekend with 3 packs of anchoves and within 4-5 hours probably caught 50 or so small stripers.  You would have a bite everytime within 10 seconds of casting out!  After asking around, I was told that you can always catch little stripers on anchoves but the larger ones tend to go for shad.  Any truth to this? 
Any help on catching large stripers would be great!  I do most of my fishing from shore as my pontoon boat isn't the greatest for fishing.
Thanks

FX

I'd have thought your pontoon boat would be ideal for fishing on the delta. It would also allow you to troll for those big stripers. Where do you bank fish?

Stripers definitely like shad. The best way to serve them up is to filet one side of the shad, starting behind the head, but stop before you get to the tail (don't cut the filet off completely). Then fold the filet back and hook the shad so it's kinda open butterfly-style. One of these days I'll snap a photo.

We're not from Stockton, but we're not far away - Discovery Bay, on Hwy 4 near Brentwood. Used to berth a boat at Village West Marina on the north side of Stockton for many years. There used to be a good bait shop on Hwy 4, not far from the intersection with I-5, at a gas station. It was called Island Bait and Tackle. They closed down for some time, but I believe they're open again under new owners.

Tom-