"J" brakes in a diesel

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

75sling

Hello Everyone,

Well as a newbie, I got a chance to drive a Class A diesel.  As I was coming down a hill, I noticed something like "downshifting" in a car, in that the MH started to slow down.  I asked and I was told it's the "J" Brakes kicking in (or Jay brakes???) ....I was shown the system from uoutside the MH and it looked like a cylinder about 7 inches in diameter and about 16 inches tall....

is this something that is in common in MH's?

thanks
75sling

The Jake Brake is AWESOME !!

I don't know how common they are in motorhomes, but every big rig on the road has one. They assist them in slowing down when needed.

If you have one, it's a BIG plus !!

Don't know what coach you were in but what you describe sounds more like an exhust brake not a true Jacobs brake as used on trucks and busses. The difference is, a "Jake" brake is a device mounted to the top of the valve train inside the engine and an exhust brake is a valve mounted in the exhust pipe to close off the exhust. Both do the same job, just differently. Most Diesel coach's will have them.

Jerry

It could be a Jacobs Extarder exhaust brake, also sometimes referred to (mistakenly) as a Jake brake.

You just discovered the BEST feature of a DIESEL engine, a great way to control your downhill speed.  For us, if a new coach offered 100 more HP or a Jake Brake that was twice as efficient slowing you on the down hill, we would opt for the more efficient Jake brake.  Some folks may be surprised but we are more interested in good control going downhill than how fast we can go uphill.

JerryF