Which netbook (notebook)?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

boaterkathy

I will start by saying that I am not very technically inclined. :-[      So most computer terms  are lost on me.

That said,  I would like to get a very small computer that is easy to take along, and one that I can get a plug in through a phone company to have service most places.
We are thinking about canceling our home internet service, because we are not there over half the year anyway.  I currently have a heavy laptop that is probably 5 years old, but I would still like the option to use that if I want(hence the plug that I can switch between the two computers).  Am I making sense? ::)
I could get a 10.1 inch Gateway through Verizon for about $150 if I sign up for a two year agreement, but that would have the card built in, so I could not switch back and forth between computers.  I don't think I would want that small of a computer for my only one.  I have also looked at one that was 11+ inches which seemed pretty nice.  That was an Acer that was at Wal-Mart for $299.  I really don't want to spend any more than $400.
Any suggestions on models or advice??      I would really appreciate some help!!!!!!

I got an 15" Acer, Cannon printer and Targus carry case for the computer for $400 at Best Buy a while back.  It is not a screamer and a little light on hard drive, 160gbit but for a non computer geek and I'm not into movies etc., it is good enough for me.  It has a built in WIFI and telephone modem so I am good there.  It included a free upgrade to Windows 7 Home premium so will have the latest OS.  I am still learning it so am not sure of all the capabilities.  It has great sound for listening to music, I'm an old man and can't hear highs anyway and it is supposed to be HD compatible, whatever that means!

It is better on the eyes than my ViewSonic LCD on my desktop computer.