EPDM Coatings
rvupgradestore.com Composet Products
RV Life Magazine RV Park Reviews RV Trip Wizard

Author Topic: No, Santa, there's still a roof there :)  (Read 3280 times)

Th_ RVing_Sheltie

• Ya, and extra pickles on that burger!
No, Santa, there's still a roof there :)
« on: December 24, 2009, 07:07:40 PM »
I'm new to all this and thankful for all the advise I've read here.

I have, and live in, a 74' Class C motor home. Just finished gutting it all out and making it into a super place to live. Have two questions though.

Why don't I see or hear about skylights in the ceiling of an RV. Seems like the perfect place, and let in a lot of light. But there must be something I don't see. For the sake of the question say I was thinking of a skylight, 4' x 6'.

My second question is about putting in a regular door.Can you put a regular door/door frame in replacement of the original? I wondered if a wood door frame could handle the needed flexibility. Since I live in my RV and don't use it to travel, it may not be a problem.

Thanks everyone!
 8)

It isn't about control. It is about freedom, the freedom to move when I want to move

Wendy

• Forum Staff
  • ---
Re: No, Santa, there's still a roof there :)
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2009, 07:31:08 PM »
Hi Sheltie. My parents have a 5th wheel with a skylight in the living area. It has a slide just like one in a car and it lets in a ton of light when slid back. We have a stationary skylight in the shower in our motorhome....let's in a lot of light but also lets in a lot of cold. So, yes, Santa, there are skylights  ;D

Wendy
Wendy, Mike, and Gordon
~We can't be lost because we don't care where we're going~
Here's where we are http://map.datastormusers.com/user2.cfm?user=2276
2015 Allegro Ooen Road
1973 Sunshine Yellow VW Bug

bigskymt

• ---
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2009, 08:11:11 PM »
  Skylights seem to be disguised as escape hatches in some RVs and as shower roofs in others.