TT-30 Plug to 3 Wire Pigtail (120)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mark A

First Post on this site....I have a Champion 3500 generator with TT-30 RV receptacle.  I want to come off of this receptacle and convert it to 110 outlets for my house in the event of an emergency.  I am not an electrician, but I can follow simple directions.  Can anyone help or am I at the wrong site?  Thanks!

Try using the Search button, and you'll find a number of prior discussions on this subject. One big caveat is that you need a foolproof way of ensuring that your house stays disconnected from incoming power lines, otherwise you might have some nasty results. The most serious of these could be killing an unsuspecting lineman.

First. that outlet may be 30 amp, 120 volt, or 30 amp 240 volt. Please use a meter and CHECK it first..... (pays to be sure)

now, how to hook it up

On the house have an electrician install a proper Generator Transfer Box with a proper inlet... This inlet will normally be a 30 amp 4-wire 250 volt TWIST LOCK "plug" in a housing

now, you will need

A 30 amp RV power cord, Male plug, tinned leads on the other end (Bare wire)

One 30 amp twist-lock outlet matching the inlet (Must mate with inlet)

Hook up as follows

Green wire to green screw

Black wire to copper screws (Marked normally L-1 and L-2 and you connect this wire to BOTH of these screws)

White wire to Silver color screw (Marked W on many plug bodies)

And that is all there is to it.

If the outlet is 240 volt.. then there is somethign different.

DO NOT FORGET THE TRANSFER SWITCH BOX

You do NOT want to back feed the neighborhod or the mains.