Replacing chairs

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tnsauerkraut

I'm new to the rving lifestyle and had a question, that may be a dumb one.  We have two swivel recliners in our 5th wheel that are not attached to the floor.  When we eventually replace them, I would like to replace them with a recliner loveseat.  Since the chairs are not secured, would it be ok to but a loveseat from a regular furniture store?

Wouldn't hurt a thing. Get you a couple football players to get that baby inside the coach. It will be heavy.

In addition to needing help to get it in ---- make sure it will fit true the door! Most "home" furniture will not unless you can partially dis-assemble it - or - have a lerge window you can take out.

ken

I read someplace else that an rver went to a furniture store with her rv and told the salesman that she would buy the piece that fit through her door, lol!  I think I'll try that.  :)

Try IKEA, they seem to have slightly smaller type furniture that is more likely to fit thru your door.  Being a 5th wheel a windshield removal won't work. 

Ernie Ekberg said:
Wouldn't hurt a thing. Get you a couple football players to get that baby inside the coach. It will be heavy.

And be mindful of the weight.  Everything you bring in to your RV adds weight, so you don?t want to go over the RV?s carrying capacities (especially if you travel with water in your holding tanks!).  So if the chairs you replace weigh 100lbs and the new chairs weigh 200lbs., you?ve just reduced your acceptable travel weight by 100lbs...

Guess that means you have to leave the anvil at home...  ;)

And when sizing things up, don't forget to account for the slide if you have one near where you are putting the new seats!