FRED vs. rear diesel MH's

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

racryf

I am a relative newbie and have a question.
What are the advantages/disadvantages of rear diesel engines vs FRED's?
My husband and I are in the market to bump up to a diesel from a class C and it's confusing enough with all the floorplans and options!
We have narrowed it down to the Tiffin Phaeton,Winnie tour/expedition or Gulf Stream Crescendo.
Any opinions are greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Beth

FRED will be a little more loud in the drivers and passenger seat. Not sure if a FRED has air suspension. All three companies are solid and with good reputations. I have a Gulf Stream I have found the factory extremely friendly and helpful.

Thanks for the info, Jm & Di.
Glad to hear you like your GS, that is the model we are leaning towards.
Beth

I'm guessing there also might be more heat in the front with a FRED than with a DP.  On a hot day after a long run we usually open the back end of our DP to let some of the heat from the engine dissipate more quickly.  In the rear bedroom we have a seat that is right over the engine and I often sit on it to change shoes.  I can feel the warmth there after a long run, so I would think the FRED might do the same to the front end.  Incidentally, the front of a motorhome also is more difficult to cool in the summer because of the large windows.

If anyone owns a FRED it would be interesting to hear what you have to say about my guess.

ArdraF

Any front engine coach is going to be noisier and hotter up front, simply due to the location of the engine.

Also, the Freightliner FRED chassis (and also the front diesel Workhorse W22D) have solid front axles and leaf spring suspensions, while just about all the rear diesel chassis have air suspension and many have Independent Front Suspensions instead of a solid axle.