Truck Wings - Do They Really Save Fuel ?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

N5IBM

Just checking with any of you that have actually installed a truck wing pulling your 5th wheel, and if it increased your fuel economy.

Thanks, Russell - Orlando, FL

I have no first hand knowledge. However, I met a guy in Brenda that had one the one year but didn't the next year.  I was there when another 5er owner asked what happend to the wing on the truck and his answer was that using it the year before and comparing to the previous year it didn't make any difference other than it was just something else that required attending to when he arrived in Brenda.

Evidently they work for commercial, semi-trailer hauling trucks.  See the test results at http://www.freightwing.com/.  Given that it is a manufacturers site and they paid for the testing, there is little reason to doubt the results.  Certainly a lot of trucking businesses spend their money on the product.

Anecdotally, I can really feel the difference in shock wave and turbulence between a winged and faired truck passing my trailer and one without the equipment.  The protected truck's shock wave is minuscule, the unprotected one has a pronounced shockwave.  It is generating that shockwave that costs the fuel mileage and is cured by the wing.

In fact, the worst offenders on the road for shockwave are not the semi-trailers but the panel vans, buses, and motorhomes.  OTOH, 5ers do not seem to be major offenders in the shock wave department -- but then only the biggest 5ers come near a semi in frontal area.