cargo trailer?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

stray_bullet

Hi Everyone. Well i picked up my 06 Fleetwood Excursion last week and used it over the weekend. My first motorhome trip was a success!. However, being stranded without a vehicle isn't fun. So, I came home and ordered a enclosed cargo trailer. It is a 8 1/2 x 20' car hauler. My hitch and gvw support the load supposedly. My question is............... Why, does everyone haul there vehicles directly hooked up to the motorhome versus a enclosed trailer. Perhaps I didn't think it out well enough before my order. As you can tell, I have only pop-up camped about ten years ago, so I'm totally new to this whole motorhome experience.

Thanks,

Brad

Guess I will give some reasons and I'm sure others will add more.
1. Economy - the enclosed trailer will add an additional 1500-2000 lbs you will be towing equaling more fuel required to move down the road.
2. Convenience - Some places just don't have room for trailers or even tow dollies.  Have been in some parks that charge extra up to the cost of another site for somebody to park their trailers.
3.  It is a lot easier to just unhook the towbar than to unload the trailer which you may also have to unhook to get in a site.

When we first started we purchased a used tow dolly and learned a lot.  Lot easier to tow 4 down than to bother loading and unloading a tow dolly.

Be sure to get you rig weighed when loaded and inflate your tires accordingly per your tire manufacturers charts and make sure you do not exceed any of the weight limitations.

stray_bullet said: