Tankless Water Heater

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
No, but I'm interested to know more if you go that route.  I think it's a fabulous idea to use those in a house or an RV, and Europe is already making tankless water heaters the standard.  Might be something to look into for my 89 Winnebago.  Do you know how it would compare to a regular tank heater?  (Is there a limit on how long the water runs hot?)  I'm new to all this.

Margot

We're curious about it also.  The one we had in Europe, about 23 years ago, in our apartment, it sucked up alot of electricity.  That's all we saw over there at that time, was electric run tankless water heaters.  They have very small apartments over there, so space is something to be maximized.  How much battery juice would something like this suck up?

Thanks,
Dee and John

Karmabytz said:
Do you know how it would compare to a regular tank heater?  (Is there a limit on how long the water runs hot?)  I'm new to all this.
Margot

I have a tankless water heater in my South San Francisco home, but cannot have one at my Reno home because there it gets too cold for a tankless. You do NOT want to use them if there is a chance for the water in the tankless "tank" to turn to ice. They really do have a tank to hold about one gallon or so. You don't want that to turn to ice. It can ruin the tankless water heater. There is no warm water when it is NOT being used. However, some (such as mine) have an electric heater that comes on when it gets below 40F or so. But it is NOT enough to help if it gets well below freezing as it does often in Reno's Winter.