To use solar or a generator.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gizmothing

Well as per the advice in the other thread, here is a new thread with a different title.

I am going to skip the boring into and such, and get right to it.

We have just purchased a 24' travel trailer, and I am looking to find the best option for power.

I am leaning towards a Solar set-up, but I have zero experience towards what I need, or how much I need. On the other hand, I could just buy a generator for it, and not worry too much.

Power demands are:

water pump, furnace, fridge, few lights and a small 12v car stereo (head unit and 2 indoor speakers and 2 outdoor) that I will be installing.

With that, the trailer has an old 12v deep cycle that I think I will be replacing.

I have heard something about using golf cart batteries as well.

with what I want to be using, how much will I require with a solar set up? and is it cost effective versus a generator? I am hoping to avoid the generator because of the noise, but, I can learn to ignore it for the right price...

any help or advise that can be imparted is greatly appreciated!

Two 6 volt batteries will not provide much reserve if your furnace is fan forced. I hope you don't plan on running the fridge on 12vdc if it is so equipped, that will kill batteries quickly.
  Normal lights, stereo, water pump should be OK with two 6Vs.
  IMO one 130 watt (about 8.5 amps) solar panel should be sufficient for 2 6V.
  A small Honda or Yamaha 1000 or 2000 watt generator is quiet, efficient and dependable. It would be a good backup to batteries and solar or great on its own.

Refer runs on Gas and normally only needs a very small 12VDC power to work.  So, solar= silent power, does not work on cloudy days or in the shade is very expensive per watt of power.