1997 Coachmen Mirada

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jflo631

Hello everyone!! I am looking to purchase a 1997 Coachmen Mirada 31' with 10,000 miles. The dealer is asking $9900.  It is on a GM chassis so it has the 454.  I looked at it today, looks good on the outside, the stickers are cracked but I would expect that in the AZ sun.  It has new tires and runs great.  Inside looks as great for a 1997.  Everything works inside and out. I have previewed your checklist and everything checks out.  The dealer had an inspection done when it arrived. Hoses have been replaced and everything has been recently serviced.  I am curious if this is a "good deal"?  I am new to motorhomes and I don't want to get involved in a "money pit".  I appreciate your help!! :D

You either mispelled the price or the mileage. If both are correct, then you either got yourself a super deal or a hidden money hole. ;D

It has 10,000 miles, and they want $9,900..  the generator only has 190hrs on it as well..  Very light wear on the entire unit inside and out..

Seems like an awfully low price, but NADA book says that is about right for a very-low mileage 97 Mirada. Over $2000 uplift for the very low miles, so a typical price for one would be $7500.

The Mirada is a very inexpensive unit to begin with, so don't expect frills or top quality construction. Insulation is likely to be minimal, nose and vibration relatively high, that sort of thing.  It's a weekend getaway machine, not a fulltimer's home.

A little used motorhome can have problems with anything rubber - belts, hoses, etc. And tires are probably old, even though they look good. Check the dates on the tire sidewalls to be sure they are recent and not 7-10 year old tires that look new.