Axle ratio

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

explorer777

Hi, I have a 2003 Ford F-250 Crew cab 4x4 with a 5.4L and a 3.73 axle ratio.  With this combination, my tow rating is only 6800 lbs.  Ford lists that with no other changes other than switching to a 4.10 axle ratio, my tow rating increases to 8400 lbs.  I talked to my local transmission shop, and they said they can change it to a 4.10 easily enough, but they felt I would be happier with a 4.30 axle ratio after I told them why I wanted to change it.

I'm looking to buy the Rockwood 8317SS which weighs in at just under 6000 lbs empty and has an 8273 GVWR.  I'm new to this game, but have done some reading.  I was a little disappointed when I realized a truck as large as mine could only tow 6800lbs, but I guess with only a 5.4, it's a lot of weight to carry let alone a trailer too.  I also realize the gas trade off with switching to the higher ratio, but I only work 2 miles from my house and I don't do any interstate driving with this vehicle other than when I will be hauling the trailer.  That's why there's only 50,000 miles on the truck.

Has anyone else made an axle ratio change?  Any success stories, horror stories, etc....  I guess the transmission shop calls this a (Ring and Pinion) change.

Thanks in advance,

Tom

Welcome to the Forum.
Your limiting factor is and always will be the motor, not the rear end ratio.  While a gear change will help. nothing will cure the screaming you will encounter at times.  If you want to know what a 4.30 rear end ratio will sound like when towing, stick your transmission in 3rd and get the truck up to 65MPH.  I suspect you will not enjoy the screaming motor.  Why not find a similar truck that already has a V10 in it and word a swap?  You would be much happier towing at the end of the day IMHO.

Hi explorer and welcome to RV Forum...