1/2 Ton Towing

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Irocrcr

I am new to the RV lifestyle and have been reading a lot of the posts on here to get a jump on things.  After reading many of the posts regarding towing a camper with a half ton truck I was starting to doubt the setup I was planning on using.  The camper was a gift from my in laws, and I already owned the truck, so I decided to set the truck up and try it. The camper is a 1998 Aerolite seven 24' fifth wheel with a 13" pin box extension, and the pickup is a 1998 Chevrolet K1500 extended cab, short box, with the 5.7ltr, auto trans, and 3.73 gears. I installed a Reese 15k non sliding hitch (my in laws old hitch), and a p3 brake controller.

Towed the camper yesterday about 35 miles just to try it out, and it went great. The truck had plenty of power to pull it and handled the weight just fine.  The truck has a towing capacity of right around 7000 lbs in its current configuration, and the trailer has a gvwr of 4675.  When I pulled it yesterday it had full propane tanks, and half a tank of fresh water on board. It was also loaded with all their stuff for camping (lawn chairs, dishes, small grill, towels, etc..), so except for our clothes and some beer, it was essentially fully loaded.  Just wanted to post on here that it is possible to safely pull a camper with a half ton, provided you keep the size of the trailer on the smaller side.

The one question that I would like some input on is what kind of stabilizing jacks does everyone like and why?  My trailer has none in the rear now and I would like to add a set to it.  Which is better, the scissor jack, or the corner post swing jack?