Stopping Safely Along The Way

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

N5IBM

Hello Gang,

I am new to the 5th wheel driving.

When driving long distances each day, like 500-600 miles, where would be good fuel locations / and restuarant's along the way that on a regular basis have room to manauver and park.

I have heard stories of unkind 18 wheelers that have purposly damaged a travel trailer just because you park near them in a reat area.

Thanks much,

Russell - Orlando, FL

One hears stories but never a first hand report.  We have stayed in truck stops a few times and never had any problems or even a hint of one. I have heard of a few accidents in crowded lots, but nothing that suggests to me that it was intentional.  But truck stops are most always noisy and often smelly with exhaust fumes and, in my opinion, a pretty poor choice if there is an alternative.

Walmarts or Sams Clubs are usually much quieter and often have 24 hour security as well.  Sometimes restaurants or other local places will allow overnight parking as well, though we have never tried that ourselves. 

Last, we  never drive 500-600 miles per day. We consider 400 miles a long drive and usually do 200-250.  That leaves plenty of time to stop for the night and get our money's worth from a modest and inexpensive  campground.  But we are retired and usually have the luxury of plenty of time to get from one place to another. Vacationers may not be so lucky.