Motorhome speed dropped to a creep

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

crosscountry

I was on 20m mobile today and my speed dropped down to a creep.  I shut down and restarted  the engine and off we went.  It happened a second time and I stopped again with a restart.  I have been running this set up for several years.  when I get a chance I'll check my grounds plus add more ferritte beads.

I run a ISB 5.9 cummins with a 6 spd Allison.  I suspect the rf tripped up my tranny computer.

We're running fine now but it was a shock on a back road between Casper Wy and the Tetons

73, Russ - WB3FQI/7

Russ:

Cummins has what is known as engine protect mode that will shutdown the fuel if any serious conditions that can harm the engine exists including high temperatures, low oil levels or pressure, transmission problems,  etc. There is a means of reading the engine error messages to determine the cause.

I have a Wilson Cell phone amp installed in the back of this "house"  The 12 volt distribution panel is "amid-ships" about 3 feet from my left hand (or less) as I type this.. The switch that controlls the Wilson (Cause we don't always need it) is less than a foot from my left hand as I type and the Kenwood TS-2000, Well, it is less than to more than (depending on where on the radio you measure to) a foot from my right hand.

I added a 12 volt LED to the switch panel for the Wilson so I can see if it's on or off

When I push the mic button on the Kenwood and speak. Several bands.. that LED flashes in step with my voice, EVEN IF THE WILSON IS OFF.

Yes, you got RF back into one of your computers.

I don't do HF in-motion.. Only parked (For one thing the radio is  over the rear axle (Amidships) and the driver's seat is some distance away)