weak pulling power '97 F250 dsl 4X4

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

albertaangler

A suspected power issue has recently shown in spades. Picked up new travel trailer and getting it home caused me to think ....... what??
Up a decent but not very long hill started by clicking off the o/d and made it to the top- at 65 kph - lugging most of the way. Wouldn't kick down to 2nd and stay there.
So may I have?

1. issues
  2. injector issues
  3. compression issues
  4. turbo issues
  5. tranny issue
  6. other?

I'm no mechanic so tho'ts appreciated.

I had an under powered TV for a while that behaved similarly for different reasons though.  I would manually kick it down in 2nd in those cases and only up shift when the speed and grade could permit.

While there may be people here that can help you, you will find more experts along with people calling themselves experts on a Ford truck forum like: http://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php.

Not trying to steer you away from here, it is a great place, but when you have a manufacturer specific problem, sometimes it's best to go on these forums too.