DIY Cabinets

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

npawlowic

I am looking into buying an older coach as a project. I'm a fairly (but not very) handy guy.  I think I can handle the mechanical aspects - I'm looking at pre-electronics engines - or at least know enough to know when to bring in the pros.  I'm a flooring contractor (for stationary buildings that is), so I've got that covered, and my wife is a decent seamstress and has recovered some furniture in our home, so I've got soft goods covered.  My question is, and I haven't seen much mention of it in the forum, is cabinetry.  I've completed a home kitchen renovation, but I would imagine that cabinets in a mobile home would have to be very secure, and are more involved than hanging cabinets in a house.

Can anyone point me to some DIY RV cabinet info, or is it even worth it?  Using my home kitchen remodel as a guide, I can see the cost of redoing the cabinets in an older coach quickly outstripping the cost of the coach itself, making a newer coach with a better condition interior more cost effective.  But the look of those 1970's coaches is just so cool, I'm having trouble talking myself into resisting them.

The cabinets in an RV are pretty much standard construction and hung in the usual way, though maybe with a few more screws than is common in fixed homes. Many RVs have pretty cheap cabinets too, just veneered MDF (particle board), but hardwoods are clearly better because the hinges don't pull out as easily.

I would consider re-veneeering the cabinets rather than replacing. I've done that in a fixed house and I'm sure your experience in flooring is adequate to do your own cabinets. The self-stick veneers come in either real wood or vinyl and the look is excellent.  You can order the materials at Lowes (they use a company called Quality Doors) or various sources online.