Storing Travel Trailer

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

trooper253

I am getting ready for the arrival of my new Hornet 27BHS later this summer and have a question about storing when its not in use.  The only place that I have to put so it will not be in my way is a little off level.  Will it harm the camper to leave it sitting off level or will it be best to level it up?  Also would it be better to block the tires up or just use the stabilizer jacks that are on the camper.  I am new to rving and want to have everything in place when it gets here.

I think a lot of what you want to do depends on how long you plan on "storing" it when not in use.  I am a "weekender", meaning I get out about once a month, two months, or so.  When I had my TT, I "stored" it first at a lot (when I live at a place that wouldn't let you store beside the house).  That was fairly level to begin with.  But no special considerations other than locking it all up.  I did put the stabilizers down, but probably wasn't necessary.  At my house now, I stored it at the side of my house, and got it "mostly level", but it was still off a bit.  It was level enough where I could still run my refrigerator (I kept the TT plugged in all the time).  Otherwise, no special considerations. 

So, I would say, as level as you can.  I've read much both ways about raising and blocking the axles to take weight off the tires, and even to reduce the pressure in them.  That, to me would indicate the trailer would be stored for quite some time.  Even during my extended periods of no use, my camper never sat that long. 

Whatever you do, DO NOT use your stabilizers to reduce the weight on your tires.  That is not what they are designed to do.  They are not designed to level...only to stabilize.