EPDM Coatings
rvupgradestore.com Composet Products Custom Yacht Interiors

Author Topic: Renting out your RV  (Read 32151 times)

Frizlefrak

• ---
  • El Paso, Texas
Re: Renting out your RV
« Reply #30 on: August 21, 2015, 01:38:07 PM »
Does this 'Conversion' rule apply to the rental car companies, i.e. if a vehicle is not returned, the law will not treat it as a theft and apprehend the perp?  Seems like the theft rate would be astronomcal if that is the rule.

Yes.  I was a manager for one of the big boys for 18 years.

To be clear....conversion is a crime, and yes the police will seize the vehicle and arrest the perpetrator.  It doesn't carry quite the same legal gravity as out right theft, but conversion is a felony, and they can draw substantial prison time for it.

Losses occur one of two ways....theft, ie the vehicle is stolen off the lot, from a customer, or internally (by an employee).  The second way is conversion.  Neither is all that common, and it wasn't unusual to recover a vehicle two days later......or sometimes years after it went missing.  Sometimes someone rents a car for two days on a cheap weekend rate knowing they will need it for a month, but can't afford the month.  They keep it for the month and then dump it on the lot in the middle of the night, or sometimes leave it at Wal-Mart, a mall, etc and just abandon it.

What DOES happen a lot is someone rents a car and then loans it out to a friend, relative, etc.....who absconds with the vehicle.  To answer your next question, the renter is potentially on the hook for the full retail value of the vehicle, and when (if) it's recovered, they're on the hook for the entire time it was gone plus any damages and the down time to repair them.  I've seen cases where someone rented a car for a weekend, loaned it out, and they were bankrupt 3 months later. 
2014 Ram 2500 Cummins
2012 Palomino 30' TT

GoRVnow

• GoRVnow
« Reply #31 on: August 21, 2015, 08:20:58 PM »