5th wheel generator.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

icewater

OK I have a question about 5th wheels.....do some/most have a propane generator system built in or is this an oddity. I am very new to this idea RVing. I was a backpacker in my younger days. I have been looking at E Bay just for some ideas of what is available. I like the idea of a towed trailer that could be stored at a home base type arrangement while the truck could be used for day trips. Any thoughts would be appreciated. Happy Thanksgiving ! :)

Icewater,

Most 5th wheel trailers do not have generators. Some folks do order them or put them in after they get the rig. I would stay away from any propane fired generator. They use an aweful lot of fuel. Honda has a very quiet gas generator that is capable of taking care of any needs one might have. You can also tie two of them together for a full 30amps. They are not cheap but people that have them seem to love them.

If you decide to install a generator inside a bay be sure it is properly prepared. With the portable you can leave it outside with less fear of fumes getting into the rig.

Our Cameo came preped for a generator,but we have never had one installed. We did buy one of the little Honda 1000's and we carry that with us. It will not run
the A/C or the electric water heater, but it will run the TV and the Sat Receiver and the lights and charge the batteries. If it is hot enough for the A/C we hook up
and move to a cooler place or go where they have hookups.

Dave

You do know with that honda you can likely parrallel in another to make it a honda 2000, and by the way, the AC unit I put in my trailer (Before I traded it in on something larger) a Genrac 1000 did run it,,, Sounded a bit strange, but the  Genrac did indeed run it.

A 2000 would have run it better though