1991 Elandan

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jnagel88

I'm new to all of this (never owned a trailer or a motor home) so I'm hoping those of you with more experience can help me out.  :)  I'm seriously looking at a 1991 Elandan 34'. It has the fuel injected 454 and about 72,000 miles. It seems to be in really good condition. It's at a dealership so they'll go through it to make sure everything works and they'll also show me how everything works, tune it up, etc. The biggest concern I have is the ceiling; the vinyl has pulled away from the backer in the entire coach. The previous owner put in some extra fasteners to hold it up but I'm concerned that it's water damage. The dealer insists that it's just the adhesive letting go -- i.e. it's old and that's what happens. Any info, advice, opinions would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

That might very well be the case - are there any other signs of water intrusion?  I would not expect the headliner adhesive to be water soluble.  Car headliners of that era and earlier used to be notorious for sagging headliners - happened to me.  If I remember correctly I think the foam backer disintegrated and then the headliner was loose.  If I were you, I would find a good independent RV mechanic/tech and hire him to do a thorough pre-purchase inspection.  If the dealership balks about letting you do that, I would be very suspicious of the deal.

There is one very small spot in the back bedroom area that had a leak and it's been fixed. The dealer showed that to me right away -- I didn't even have to ask. As far as the rest of it I think it fits your description of the foam backer disintegrating. The material under the foam feels very solid -- it's not squishy or moldy. Any other thoughts on a 1991 Elandan? Are they generally a good machine?

jnagel88 said: