Campsites with Hummingbirds in Mexico???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GregScott

How's that for highly specific?! I'm a hummingbird photographer, and each spring I usually go to Arizona to photograph hummingbirds during the migration.
I'm thinking I would like to catch the migration further south, perhaps on the gulf, or perhaps on the pacific.
Copper Canyon looks like it could be good. I found a campsite there that might work.

Have you seen heavily used hummingbird feeders anywhere in Mexico?
Where?
Do you have any idea what species were there, or how many species were there?

Thanks for any suggestions.

Check out my photos at GregScott.com

Awesome photos, Greg!  What shutter speeds do you need to use to stop the action of hummingbirds?

rsalhus said:
Awesome photos, Greg!  What shutter speeds do you need to use to stop the action of hummingbirds?

He is using a high speed flash to stop the hummer. You can stop one without a flash at 1500th or less.

Thanks for the compliments.

Well, "stop action" is a relative thing, in high speed photography.
The shutter on some cameras works at maybe 1/4000 or 1/8000 second.
My canon 550 EX flashes at 1/128th power (fastest setting is lowest power) has speed of 1/15000 second.
My custom high speed flash, built by deceased flash maker Olsen, is very powerful and has a flash duration of 1/33000 second, and 4 absolutely simultaneous flash heads.
This means that my wing tips resolve twice as much detail using the Olsen flash as with the Canon flashes.

Ideally I should be using it on larger birds, but I need to work out an electric eye to trigger the camera.