Guitars and WD-40

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.
seilerbird said:
I don't believe in changing strings until I have a real good reason. My current strings are at least three years old. The WD-40 keeps them just like new. Plus I wash my hands before I play and wipe down the entire guitar with a microfiber cloth when I am done playing. No, I don't use WD on the fretboard, only on the metal parts. Some WD will end up on the fretboard but it has never hurt a fretboard yet.

It is my experience that some people's skin is more corrosive than other people's.  I have a corrosive skin, and combined with my abrasive personality, I can really wear things thin.

I am a drummer, and the same thing happens to mylar drum heads...they just die and get funky overtones and no response.  I prefer cloth or kevlar as they tend to retain their tone and response longer.  Sticks too...a quick tap on the node can tell you if they are still alive, and playing with a dead stick is like fishing with a wet noodle...just doesn't feel right.

Now I know why I can't play my instruments. I have a cheapy guitar, a Wald Zither and a "What is it" a deep body string instrument...looks like a pregnant small guitar.

Maybe I should soak them in WD-40 for a while and see if my playing skills will improve. Never had any lessons in my life and playing by ear is the pits. My friends think so when I try to play.  ;D 8)

Right now they are all ornamental items on top of ledges around the rooms. ..catching dust.  :(

Carson FL

Next time I am in Florida I will be happy to give you some lessons. I can teach you Blackbird by the Beatles in a few hours.

Thanks, Tom.. All my strings are over 30 years old, but sound good to me. Twang squeak etc...

Not for the faint of heart.

carson