When towing four wheels down, can I go in reverse 2 inches? 8 inches? 10 feet?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
roaming rob, Do not listen to the folks that say you can't back up with 4 down.  I have backed a hundred feet or more at  times.
The secret is to have the intelligence to understand how things work.
First off the castor of the steering axle will reverse on you under normal towing circumstances but just the knowledge of this will tell you to LOCK the steering wheel in the straight ahead position and back the TOAD as you would a trailer you can succeed.
Now some that don't know better will tell you that this is a NO,NO as you are skidding the front tires.  The wear of tires while backing this way is so slight that you will never notice it during the life of the tire.
I have been towing one to two trailing vehicles since 1986 and have never had a problem with backing, so don't take the words of the negative Nancy's, but figure out a positive approach to problems.
Marvin

It "can" be done. But there are a 1000 ways to really screw it up, too.

Locking the front wheels might work, but on a lot of vehicles the front wheels will not lock exactly straight, and that can create a significant adventure all its own.

LarsMac said:
Locking the front wheels might work, but on a lot of vehicles the front wheels will not lock exactly straight, and that can create a significant adventure all its own.
This is wrong, if the wheels will not lock straight then someone has not adjusted the linkage properly. Plus slightly off center will have zero affect on the ability to back as a trailer.
You can fool around with unhooking/hooking for 15 minutes or you can spend 2 minutes locking/unlocking steering.
The choice is yours.
Marvin