Dead battery on 5th wheel

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tjg

Have a 5th wheel and just went out to load for trip over New years and slides won't go out.  Think battery is dead, and it's a new battery.  Should I leave plugged in to electricity while in storage?  It's only been about a month since we used it last.  Does the winter months take more of a toll on batteries than spring and summer months?  Will being plugged into electricity now charge up the battery, or do I need to put on a charger?  I'm new to all this. 

tjg said:
Have a 5th wheel and just went out to load for trip over New years and slides won't go out.  Think battery is dead, and it's a new battery.  Should I leave plugged in to electricity while in storage?  It's only been about a month since we used it last.  Does the winter months take more of a toll on batteries than spring and summer months?  Will being plugged into electricity now charge up the battery, or do I need to put on a charger?  I'm new to all this. 

A new battery will discharge over time. You probably didn't disconnect it from the coach and have some small draw from items like the propane detector. This will discharge your battery faster than if it's disconnected. Quite often there is a switch you can throw that will disconnect everything in the coach from the battery. Usually it's located near or in the 12V fuse panel. If there is not switch I would leave it plugged in or disconnect the ground side at the battery.

You should be OK as far as charging but it might take a little time. Be sure to check your electrolite level to see if it is below the plates. If so add some distilled water to bring it just above the plates. I would do it without the charger running as that might cause excess gas to expel some electrolyte while you are trying to fill the cells.