roof ac question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

82 Honey 27

i am new to this rv stuff and have a question. should my roof air blow harder when it is plugged into 110 volts than when it is running on the generator? i have a 4k generator and nothing else was on.  thanks in advance, mike

No, the A/C doesn't know where it's power is coming from.  An exception would be if your generator was putting out low voltage.  Do you have an AC voltmeter to check that?

thanks Ned. i will try that tomorrow. i am afraid to run it because i was afraid it might damage the ac unit.

If the generator voltage is low, it could damage the A/C compressor.

Ned said:
If the generator voltage is low, it could damage the A/C compressor.

i only ran it for less than 5 minutes. as soon as i noticed it i turned it off. thanks,yall are the greatest!! :D

ok i checked the output of the generator and it was only 96 volts. i forced it to run faster and it went up to 106 volts. now i gotta figure out how to speed it up a little more. the lever on the carb butterfly is pegged out now!

Hoh Boy...be careful

The first thing you should do is measure the RPM of the engine. The AC output must be close to 60 Hz.

If you simple adjust the speed higher you may be doing great harm to anything electronic hooked up.

You may have a voltage regulation problem as controlled by the circuit board in the generator.

Most generators of that size run at 3600 RPM at all times.

carson

thanks, what do i need to check the HZ of the output. i think i can find some kind of tachometer to check the rpms with.

82 Honey 27.  I can't begin to start an Electronics 101 course here.

Since we don't know what your technical expertise is, I can only suggest a few things.